Charlottesville Criminal Lawyers
False identification crimes include more than simply using a false document to enter a club or obtain alcohol or cigarettes illegally. It is also illegal to possess, alter, make, sell, or distribute a fake ID, or to loan your own ID to a friend to use, or assist a person in any way with obtaining a fake ID. This means that even simply passing along a fake identification card to another person could be a crime.
Call Today for a Free Case Evaluation
High Quality Representation
To protect your rights you need a knowledgeable defense team that can review and challenge the government’s case. Our attorneys have 20 years of extensive experience in defending clients in all state and federal courts. We have the ability to evaluate the strength of the prosecutor’s case, and how to negotiate for lesser charges or obtain alternative sentencing options. In the event a resolution acceptable to the client is not available, the firm has extensive and successful experience in defending criminal cases at the trial and appeal level.
Many of our UVA clients, or their parents, believe that the police or the prosecutors will give students a break or treat them leniently. This is not true; the police and prosecutors will charge and prosecute a student just as quickly as anyone else. If you are charged with a crime, it is important to take the charges seriously. Possessing, using, or distributing false forms of ID are considered a Class 1 misdemeanor under Virginia Code Section 18.2-204.1 and 204.2.
The punishment for a Class 1 misdemeanor includes a potential jail sentence of up to twelve months and a potential fine of up to $2,500. Using a fake ID to purchase alcohol is also a Class 1 misdemeanor offense carrying a maximum jail sentence of one year and and/or $2,500 in fines. In addition to these penalties, you may have your driver’s license revoked for up to 12 months, be fined a minimum of $500, and/or be required to perform at least 50 hours of community service, under Virginia Code Section 4.1-305. If you are underage and charged with using a fake ID to obtain alcohol, you may also be charged with minor in possession or other alcohol-related offenses. You may also be subject to honor charges at UVA.
If you are under 18 years old at the time you are charged, you will be charged as a minor in possession of alcohol and your case will go through the Virginia Juvenile Court process. If you are charged in the City of Charlottesville, your case would be heard in the Charlottesville Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court located at 411 East High Street, Charlottesville, VA 22902.
If you are between 18 and 21 at the time you are charged, your case will be heard in the General District Court. If you are charged in the City of Charlottesville, your case will be heard in the Charlottesville General District Court located at 606 E Market St, Charlottesville, VA 22902.
If you are facing criminal allegations, we are prepared to stand up for your rights. Call us today at (434) 972-9600 or contact us online.
Please note that the use of our contact form does not create an attorney-client relationship and therefore there is no attorney-client protection for the information you choose to submit to us. As such, please do not submit any confidential or privileged information in the contact form.
We are located in Charlottesville, but our lawyers handle cases in Charlottesville, Albemarle County, Greene County, Fluvanna County, Louisa County, Nelson County, Madison County, Orange County, Roanoke, Harrisonburg, Staunton, Waynesboro, Augusta County, and across Virginia.
Davidson & Kitzmann, PLC
211 E High St
Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone: (434) 972-9600
Fax: (434) 220-0011
© 2020 Davidson & Kitzmann, PLC