Skip to content

Charged with Reckless Driving?

Free Consultation

Call: (434) 972-9600 or

(434) 249-8590 weekends and evenings

Charlottesville Reckless Driving Lawyers

Reckless driving is a criminal misdemeanor. If you are convicted, you will have a criminal record. This could affect your current or future employment. A conviction may result in DMV points, a fine of $2,500, and potentially a jail sentence or suspended license. A conviction for reckless driving can also impact your insurance. If you have been charged with reckless driving, you should contact a knowledgeable lawyer as soon as possible, and definitely before your court date, to discuss your case and determine the best course of action.

Call for a Free Consultation
(434) 972-9600
(434) 249-8490 on nights and weekends
Or use our contact form

High Quality Representation

To protect your rights you need a knowledgeable defense team that can review and challenge the government’s case. Our attorneys have 20 years of extensive experience in defending clients in all state and federal courts. We have the ability to evaluate the strength of the prosecutor’s case, and how to negotiate for lesser charges or obtain alternative sentencing options. In the event a resolution acceptable to the client is not available, the firm has extensive and successful experience in defending criminal cases at the trial and appeal level.

Charlottesville Reckless Driving Lawyer and Attorney

Categories of Reckless Driving

There are several categories of reckless driving. If you have been charged, the “code section” listing the appropriate part of the Virginia Code will appear on your ticket.

General Reckless Driving.  This is most often used for accidents and other general driving. It states that regardless of the speed limit, any person who drives recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person shall be guilty of reckless driving. Virginia Code § 46.2-852.

Reckless Driving by Speed. Even if there is no other illegal driving, a driver in Virginia can be found guilty of reckless driving if he or she drives (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more faster than the speed limit or (ii) eighty miles per hour or faster, regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit. Virginia Code § 46.2-862. In addition, a driver can be found guilty of reckless driving if he exceeds a reasonable speed under the circumstances and traffic conditions existing at the time, regardless of the posted speed limit. Virginia Code § 46.2-861.

Specific Reckless Driving. Virginia law also specifically lists certain acts of driving as reckless driving. These include:

  • Driving a vehicle which is not under proper control. Virginia Code § 46.2-853.
  • Driving with inadequate or improperly adjusted brakes. Virginia Code § 46.2-853
  • Passing on or at the crest of a grade or on a curve. Virginia Code § 46.2-854.
  • Driving with driver’s view obstructed or control impaired. Virginia Code § 46.2-855.
  • Passing two vehicles abreast. Virginia Code § 46.2-856.
  • Driving two abreast in a single lane. Virginia Code § 46.2-857.
  • Passing at a railroad grade crossing. Virginia Code § 46.2-858.
  • Passing a stopped school bus. Virginia Code § 46.2-859.
  • Failing to give proper signals. Virginia Code § 46.2-860
  • Failure to yield right-of-way. Virginia Code § 46.2-863.
  • Reckless driving on parking lots. Virginia Code § 46.2-864.
  • Racing. Virginia Code § 46.2-865.

Penalties for Reckless Driving

A driver convicted of a reckless driving shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.

Punishments include confinement in jail for not more than twelve months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both. In addition, the Court may suspend the driver’s license for a period of not less than 10 days nor more than six months. For good cause, the court may allow the issuance of a restricted driver’s license for certain purposes.

These penalties may be increased if the reckless driving was racing that caused injuries or death, or if the driver did not have a valid driver’s license and the reckless driving caused the death of another person. In addition, a driver who kills another driver can under certain circumstances be charged with manslaughter, which is a much more serious felony offense.

Reckless Driving Cases in Court

In Court, the Commonwealth (state) presents its side first, and will present evidence of the driving. This will usually be the officer’s testimony, and may also include additional evidence like witnesses, photos, and calibrations of police equipment like radar. The defendant who was charged will then have an opportunity to testify and present his evidence. The Court will rule at the end of the evidence, and typically does so immediately. If he is acquitted – found not guilty – then the defendant will receive no punishment. If he is convicted – found guilty — the defendant is usually sentenced immediately, after the Court has had a chance to review the defendant’s driving record.

In less serious cases of reckless driving, the Court will convict the defendant, but will often limit the punishment to a fine. Although this means the defendant does not go to jail, it is a conviction for reckless driving, a criminal misdemeanor, and can have additional insurance consequences.

For more serious charges, the Court will consider a jail sentence and taking the driver’s license.

In appropriate cases, Court may be willing to reduce the charge of reckless driving. If it does so, the Court may find the driver guilty of a simple traffic infraction, which could be Improper Driving, Speeding, or a specific infraction like Failure to Yield.

Contact Us

If you are facing criminal allegations, we are prepared to stand up for your rights. Call us today at (434) 972-9600 or contact us using the form below.

Please note that the use of our contact form does not create an attorney-client relationship and therefore there is no attorney-client protection for the information you choose to submit to us.  As such, please do not submit any confidential or privileged information in the contact form.

We are located in Charlottesville, but our lawyers handle cases in Charlottesville, Albemarle County, Augusta County, Culpeper, Fluvanna, Greene County, Louisa County, Madison County, Nelson County, Orange County, Amherst, Roanoke, Harrisonburg, Henrico County, Staunton, Waynesboro, and across Virginia.

Davidson & Kitzmann, PLC
211 E High St
Charlottesville, VA 22902

Phone:  (434) 972-9600
Fax:  (434) 220-0011

© 2021 Davidson & Kitzmann, PLC 

Contact Us

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.